Waterfalls

It started with that shooting star
Arcing over our heads
While I lay in tears
Because of something he said

You sat and wished faithfully
You wished to have me again
While I watched him turn my mind against me
And tears came pouring out

It was like I was in the middle of a waterfall
Falling
And you were trying to hold onto me
While he just jumped with me

I was drenched and screaming
He just held me close
He turned my words against me
And I lost my nerve

Four months later I came back
From the brink of hell
Someone new was waiting for me
He smiled and laughed

and ran away from the wreck I was
I never quite got over that
It hurt me like you did
all those months ago

It was like I was in the middle of a waterfall
Falling
Only this time
The water suffocated me
Till I drowned.

Leave a Reply

