A Guide To My Poetry

Me telling you about my poetry
Is me handing you the key to heart
It is me telling you I am a mess but you are one of the things that keep me afloat

When I tell you about my poetry
Don’t laugh at me
I just gave you my soul
Do not laugh when you see my darkness

When you read about yourself
Hear me apologise a million times
Repeat after me:
My poetry is an outlet.
My poetry is exaggerated.
My poetry saved me.
My poetry does not mean I hate you.

If I send you poetry
Remember I probably am feeling sad at that moment
Don’t mention my sadness

If I am always sending you poetry
I may be depressed
You can do nothing about it

When you read my poetry
You read my thoughts at 2am
You read what I feel when silence surrounds me
Help me keep the silence away

When I tell you about my poetry
Do not laugh at me
Do not say ‘that’s cute’
Do not say my life is not worth writing about

When I tell you about my poetry
I hand you the key to my soul
Don’t break the lock just to spite me
Do not smash the key.

If I tell you about my poetry,
You are one of the things that keep me afloat
Do not let me sink

Leave a Reply

