The Truth (13 of 30)

The truth is that
I’m done lying to myself.

The truth is, words are no
longer keeping me afloat
and right now, I’m not even
sure if they ever did because
I’ve been choking on words
a whole lot longer than I realised,
I’ve been choking
on words almost since the
day he died and I can’t take it.

The truth is I can’t
take it anymore, the
world seems to be moving
faster than usual, and I
seem to be giving my body
ink instead of water, I seem
to be hanging the noose
around my own neck even
as I type this.

The truth is, words never
kept me afloat, they just
made it easier to escape
reality, they just made it
easier to believe I was
worth something.

The truth is that I give up,
I no longer want ink stained
lips and a linguistic heart,
I just want quiet.
I just want a head which
doesn’t make so much noise
trying to make itself heard.

Leave a Reply

