Facade

Hold me up and you will
see the sunlight pass through
me like I’m as intangible as
a whisper or a dream, and you
will see that my bones have been
ground to dust that is simply floating
inside of me, clogging my lungs and
making it harder to breathe, so
hold me up and discover how
my synthetic self melts in your
arms till I’m just a bitter memory
of a lie you fell head over heels for;
I dare you to hold me to the light.
Today, you might love what you
think I am, but we’ve only been
meeting at twilight, you’ve only
seen the shadow of my true self
so if you want to discover the truth –
hold me up near the light and
watch this facade slowly disappear,
watch me slowly crumble, and
remember this warning because
you probably won’t like what you see.

2 thoughts on “Facade

Leave a Reply

