1 of 30!!/ suffocate/ 28

My body has always been a bit too small

for my flighty spirit, so most days

it feels like a cage.

I rattle its bars sometimes, in a foolish

bid to free myself, but all it

results in is bone

chilling exhaustion, all

I’m left with is the knowledge of

my  crushing failure.

I liked to pretend I was a bird

soaring through the sky, with no

words melting in my mouth,

with no thoughts threatening to douse

their creator in gasoline,

I liked to pretend I was free.

But the truth is I’m a puppet like

any other, just another person

dangling from strings,

slowly suffocating;

my body has always been a bit too small

for my flighty spirit, so most days

it feels like a cage.

I used to rattle its bars sometimes,

but now I just sit and wait

for my face to turn blue, for

this world to become a blur, for

me to suffocate.

HI GUYS!! National Poetry Month has officially started and even though I either have exams or am travelling this month, I hopefully shall still be able to finish. Hope y’all are participating as well! – Anisha

Leave a Reply

