28 of 30/ sleep/ 56

sleep beckons me like a siren,

I hear it’s call everywhere I go

pulling my weary body towards it,

it never stops, so now it’s just

another daily noise I’m 

accustomed to, another 

disappointed murmur I’ve learnt to 

ignore, because as much as I 

want to succumb to it’s lullaby,

I have things to do, places to be,

this world doesn’t stop for

mental health, this world doesn’t

stop for physical health, this world

doesnt stop for nothing. 

So when sleep calls to me, I ignore

it, adding it to the long list

of things I was to afraid to confront,

you see, the worst thing about sleep

isn’t what you’re missing out on,

it’s what you’re not, it’s what is

present in the dark, waiting for you.

Leave a Reply

