metaphors/ 59

So a pair of too tight jeans fit

me perfectly now, and I see it 

as a metaphor for growth. 

See it as a metaphor for

evolution, when truly it’s just 

me going backwards, me

shrinking, me falling into 

a pattern that’s more dangerous

than I even know. Guess it’s

a metaphor for being unhealthy, but

my butterfly body doesn’t care,

it’s too afraid to fly so it lets

it’s wings droop, frail from 

disuse, and I don’t eat- let 

this be a metaphor for peeling

away my skin like I’m a fruit, for

shaving my soul just to make it

weigh a little less, let this be 

a metaphor for fading away.

Leave a Reply

